#thankful

It’s Thanksgiving. I decided to make the 8.5 hour drive to Kansas City to visit IHOP. I know what you’re thinking…8.5 hours for pancakes?! That’s ridiculous! Before you get too confused, IHOP actually stands for International House Of Prayer. I’ve been here for about 24 hours now. It’s more than I thought it would be. I’m ready to move in. Haha. Anyway, since it’s thanksgiving and I’m here reflecting I thought I’d make a list (because I love lists) of a few things I’m grateful for this year (obviously there are so many more things)

1.Seeing that I’m sitting in a prayer room right now, it seems fitting that I would list God first. Of course I’m thankful for God, but lately I’ve been learning how thankful I am for His unconditional love for me. It’s hard for me to understand, because there are very few people in my life that I can honestly say I would be able to love unconditionally. No matter what. Yet he loves me not because of anything that I’ve ever done. Not because I deserve it, but just because. It’s hard to grasp, but I’m learning.

2. All of my senses. I take them for granted, I really do. I’ve got 20/20 vision dang it!

3. Even when I say I’m broke, I’m not really that broke. I’ve never had to live on the street or go hungry. I might not have much money to my name, but I’ve never had to go without.

4. The other constant in my life aside from God is my family. I’m grateful that I have a family who I can always count on. I could be 45yrs old and I know that my parents would still have my back. I’m thankful that they’ve always been supportive of me and my decisions (well maybe except for the dreadlocks), even when I made stupid ones. I’m privileged to have a family that gets along and actually cares about each other. I wouldn’t trade it.

5. Since I was about 10 all I ever wanted in life was my driver’s license. Guess what…I’ve got one, I’ve got a driver’s license! Just be clear I’ve had one for quite some time now. I know it sounds silly, but I am truly thankful that I can drive. Sometimes I can’t believe that people trust me to drive a speeding bullet down the highway. Sometimes I can’t believe that I trust other people to drive speeding bullets toward me with only a painted line on the road separating us, but how great is it to be able to travel?

6. So I don’t know what my next step in life is going to look like. This current chapter is coming to a close and I don’t know where I’m going to live or what I’m going to do next. I’m thankful that I have options. That I don’t have to worry, because I know that things will work out. This one I guess is kind of hard to explain, but there are so many things I could do or places to go where I can provide food and shelter for myself. Not everyone gets that chance. There are people who don’t get options.

7. I’ve got some friends that are so close that I actually consider them my family. I am grateful for those friends that are a constant in my life. Friends that aren’t afraid to call me out on things, or who are there willing to just listen to me vent. Friends who can speak into my life and help me make sense of things. Friends I can joke with, who I share common interests with and who I can just be myself around. Yeah, those friends. Thank you.

8. Skin. I am thankful for skin. This is kind of a joke, but not really. My old college roommate and I used to tell each other this when we would complain about our skin breaking out. Haha. My skin is still breaking out and is in rough shape, what’s up with that? But I’m thankful for skin, because you know some people don’t even get skin (yeah, I know it’s not true but it helps me keep my complaining in check).

9. Where would I be without the thrifts? Thrift stores make my life possible. That might sound like an exaggeration, and it might be, but I’d say about 90% of the things I own came from the thrift store. My wallet just can’t seem to bring itself to pay full price for very many things anymore. What can I say, I LOVE to thrift.

10. Last but not least, I am thankful for Mexican food. This might sound trivial, but I’m about to leave the land of tex-mex bounty to a dry and barren land where good mexican food is pretty much unheard of. Ahhhhh! I’m tearing up already.

My Thanksgiving lunch. It was pretty delicious.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “#thankful

  1. […] I counted my blessings over the Thanksgiving weekend at the International House of Prayer in Kansas City. 12. I went to a Christmas Eve service held in […]

Leave a Reply

