Trip to Michigan Part 1

I know, it’s been just shy of a month since I took this little trip to Michigan for my Grandma’s 80th birthday. I should have gotten these pictures up sooner, but things don’t always happen like they should. I came back to Texas just in time to put all of my time and attention on our annual fall Art and Music Festival which happened on the Saturday that I returned. So here we are talking about this trip now. I’ll try to keep it short, but I’ve broken it into two parts, because that’s how the trip seemed to go. I flew in on Monday night, spent Tuesday with my parents since they both already had the day off because Monday was their anniversary and they were supposed to be out of town. That rarely happens, so it was nice to be able to spend time with them simultaneously. At 6am on Wednesday morning my sister and I loaded up her 98 Dodge Neon and hit the road heading to Kentucky. “The Friends” had a 2.5 week old baby that I was dying to see in the real.

We did not make it to Kentucky without a few major hiccups! My sister insisted that her car would make it just fine on the 8 hour drive. I had serious doubts. Needless to say it didn’t make it just fine, we broke down in Cincinnati where a supposedly good samaritan/mechanic pulled over to help. He did help, he gave us a ride to Auto Zone (just for the record, it is not a good idea to get in a car with a stranger in a strange city, I do not recommend it), we bought new spark plugs and he installed them for us. Then I like to say he “hustled” us. Pretty much he told us we needed to give him $80 for his services. We were not about to give him $80 especially since he didn’t mention that up front and we were scrapping by as it was. We ended up giving him $50 and getting the heck out of Cincinnati. We made it about 30 more miles and broke down again. Whomp whomp. This time we called our friend to come rescue us and we hid out on top of a hill on the side of the road so not to be pitied by any other “Good Samaritans.” Good news is we got to enjoy the beautiful fall weather and the scenery wasn’t so bad either.

 

We did finally make it to our destination, I got to hold that baby in my arms and spend a great 24 hours with my best friends. Even with all of the car troubles I don’t regret it a bit. We spent a majority of the day in Louisville, which is actually a really cool city. Naturally we had coffee at two different establishments, took a walk on the river walk trail, and had lunch inside a classic car.

We went to pick up a rental car and of course that didn’t go as smoothly as we would have liked it either, but we did end up with a car so that’s all that matters. We high tailed it back to Michigan to make it home in time to return the rental car and then head north with the ladies in our family to celebrate my Grandma’s 80th birthday!

To be continued…….

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Trip to Michigan Part 1

  1. […] It’s really hard for me to believe that we’re getting that old! I actually got to make 2 trips to KY this […]

Leave a Reply

