I’m pretty sure my head is still attached…I think.

Ever have one of those days where you just can’t seem to find your groove?

One of those days where you just know you’re going to lock your keys in the car (again), or spill all of your morning coffee on your brand new t-shirt on your way to meet some friends?

One of those days when you walk out of the house and have to double check to make sure you actually did put your pants on and that you grabbed your lunch off the counter because the microwave popcorn in your work cupboard just isn’t going to cut it for lunch 4 days in a row?

How about one of those days when you happen to get locked out of your apartment in your pajamas while taking that hyperactive devil puppy out for a potty break when you’re already running late for work?

What was that? No?…You don’t know what I’m talking about? I’m sure you never have days like those right? Those days don’t exist in your calm, cool and collected world, I’m sure of it.  I’m sure that I’m the only one who has those experiences (which are all sadly a little too true) and let me tell you, last week was one of those weeks. The kind of week where the expression “I’d lose my own head if it wasn’t attached to my shoulders” actually makes perfect sense.

It started when I stopped for gas and was approached by a man with a child asking for gas money to get his daughter to Corpus Christi. I politely obliged, but decided it would be a better idea to take my debit card and my life into the gas station to put money on his pump. I then drove to a quaint little thrift store about 20 minutes away, run by old ladies who as I’m told are not allowed to have any kind of technology in store because they can’t be trusted to use it:). I found a few items I wanted to purchase and upon making my way to the counter realized my wallet was not in my purse. I tried not to freak out, surely it was in the car on the seat or the floor, who knows where, but it had to be somewhere. Once I inspected every inch of the car 3 times, opened the trunk (which I hadn’t used) and emptied my already quite light purse for the 4th time I headed back inside to freak out a little. I searched the place twice thinking of any place it could possibly had fallen out of my bag. I already knew this search would be in vain, because although there are a few different rooms to shop in, it’s quite small and well…old ladies tend to talk loud so I had already heard about their craft endeavors from Pinterest and how much they hated Facebook but still use it to keep in touch, but nothing about a missing wallet. I left my phone number just in case it happened to show up. I went and searched the car one more time and then called the gas station. I don’t know if this was some type of fluke or what, but the girl on the other end told me that they didn’t have any wallets turned in and that it wasn’t there. I then assumed the worse. That I had left it in my car at the gas station and it was stolen or I dropped it on my way out and didn’t notice…. I’m now 45 minutes late for work. As I was driving, I decided as a last ditch effort I would stop at the gas station, look the attendant in the eyes and ask her if my wallet was turned in. Thankfully, to my pleasant surprise the girl handed over my wallet with all of my cards and cash still intact. Yeah, no one stole my wallet out of my car, or off the ground….I somehow managed to leave it right there on the counter and walk away without it.

I won’t bore you with all the stories from this week, but some of the highlights include:

-Getting lost in North Dallas because I missed a turn, finding my way back onto the right road just to drive 30 minutes out of the way again because I had zoned out and completely missed my exit AGAIN.

-*Disclaimer-I’m not proud of this one* Accidentally serving a woman a sour milk latte instead of a skinny latte. oops.

-Losing my debit card one more time, thankfully this time it was just in the crack between the seats in my car.

-Staying up all night packing, and not getting any sleep.

I will say however, that this week has been so much better. I’m currently visiting friends in Kentucky because I got to surprise my friend for her 30th birthday. Tomorrow morning we’re leaving and driving to Bushnell Illinois, to spend a week at the last and final Cornerstone Music Festival. Sad day. Sad day indeed, but this week is going to be great, I can’t wait. Let’s just hope I didn’t forget to pack anything important.

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “I’m pretty sure my head is still attached…I think.

  1. […] The saga continues. The one about me losing my head if it wasn’t attached. […]

Leave a Reply

