DIY Flower Box

Pallets, pallets, pallets…they’re everywhere. If you’ve ever logged onto Pinterest, you know what I’m talking about. There’s been a recent surge of  upcycling, or building things (when I say things, I mean everything) with reclaimed wood. I love it. I really do. I’ve always been a fan of the DIY, design on a budget kind of thing. Shoot, I was joking with my brother about how hispter I was, because I’ve been building things out of pallets since I was a child. When I was 10 or 11, my best friend Wendy and I built the coolest forts out of old pallets my dad had laying around the yard.Yeah, I am that cool. Haha. I kid. Anyway…when I was building that little garden fence a month or so ago, I used some old pallets left over from the coffee bar’s patio furniture. Today, I’m going to quickly share with you a little flower box planter DIY made from leftover pieces of those pallets you’re using to build that coffee table or book shelf or whatever it is your building. Before you start this DIY you will need to cut the top off of a pallet, about a 1/4 of the way from the top. Then turn it over and stand it up right so you now have a somewhat of a box (see photo below). You may have to attach some boards to the bottom if for some reason your pallet doesn’t have any (some of mine did, some didn’t).

Gather your supplies:– I used a hammer and nails, a staple gun I think would work even better!

– Scissors

-Garden fabric

-Potting soil

-Flowers

Measure the bottom of the planter and then cut your garden fabric to size. Attach the fabric to the bottom of your planter by nailing or stapling it in order to keep the dirt in.Fill planter with potting soil. Make a mess, it’s totally fine…I did. Then plant those flowers. Easy as that. Make sure to give those beauties some water and you’re good to go.I wanted to hang my planter on the railing on my porch, because there wasn’t much room on the ground. I just used some eye hooks and cables that I already had.Only half of the flowers I planted have bloomed, so it looks a little disproportioned at the moment. That’s ok, I’ve never liked perfect. There are several ways you could modify your flower box. You could paint it with a pretty design, add some fabric, grow vegetables like lettuce or herbs. So many possibilities. Just don’t let those pallet scraps go to waste. Grow beautiful things!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

