The Art of Pumpkin Cheesecake and Smoke Detectors

So I would love to write a beautiful post about how to make a lovely pumpkin cheesecake just in time for fall and the holiday seasons.

I wish I could post some gorgeous pictures of a golden brown crust baked to perfection, or a pale orange creamy filling in the bowl of my stand mixer on my clean sparkly counter, maybe pictures of myself in a cute vintage apron with my hair and makeup perfect.

But yeah, let’s be real…that is SO not my life.

This is more like it

Tonight at 11:00pm I decided it would be a good idea to fulfill a promise to a pregnant friend of mine that I would make her some pumpkin cheesecake. I got my ingredients out on the counter and started to make the crust like the recipe calls for.  As I’m putting it together I think to myself, surely this isn’t going to be enough, but I don’t listen and keep on going. I dump the crust into the spring-form pan. Well, well, well, what do you know, not enough crust. Alright, I got this.  I make another batch of crust.

I pour the second bit of crust into the pan. Looks good, stick it in the oven to bake 8 minutes.  Around minute 5, I hear a strange noise so I open the oven door to check it out. On top of the crushed gingersnaps is a pool of spitting butter that would make Paula Deen proud.  Butter is oozing out of all sides of the spring-form pan into the bottom of my oven!  That can’t be right can it? So I pour some of the butter off the top of the crust, find a baking sheet and put it back in the oven. Just as I close the oven door, my smoke detector starts screaming at me! Now you could say that smoke detectors and I have a bit of history together. We used to have a finicky detector in the house I grew up in. At least once a week it was my job to appease that thing. My mom (or dad to be fair) would be cooking dinner and if the smoke detector didn’t like what it smelled, it would go nuts. I had a little routine, first run to open the front door, then all of the windows lining the sun porch connected to the kitchen, then to open the back door, making my last stop the bedroom to grab a pillow and start fanning the detector like my life depended on it until it decided it had had enough. Fast forward to tonight though and what’ s girl to do when the smoke detector is shrieking and there are no windows in your apartment that physically open?? If only you could have seen me frantically waving a couch pillow in my short shorts, crazy hair complete with a winter headband, and mismatched socks you would so be pointing and laughing. Totally a Martha Stewart moment. Wait, I mean totally NOT a Martha Stewart moment.

::There was also that one time on my 18th birthday when the fire trucks showed up to the dorm for my party, and the time my friend and I decided it would be a good idea to test out our new fog machine in the prayer room on our hall.  Maybe if you ask, I’ll tell you those smoke detector stories sometime::

Anyway, the detector settled down and I got on with the baking. Next step, make the filling:

Pour the cheesecake filling into the baked crust, bake for about an hour. I baked mine for about 1.5 hours. I’m just going to admit it, cheesecake is kinda scary. No, it’s not hard to throw the ingredients together, but scary none-the-less.  You never know (at least in my case) how it’s going to end up…over cooked, under cooked, weirdo crust (which sad to say is what this crust turned out to be). If you plan on giving it to some one, or serving it at a party or something, you may never know until you cut into that bad boy. It’s one of those things that you just have to have a feeling about. It’s a fine line, between the center being just jiggly enough that once you refrigerate it over night it stiffens up, and not so jiggly that you end up with runny filling. You gotta go with your gut. I was quite pleased with the way this cheesecake turned out, (minus the crust!) it was pretty darn good.  So don’t be scared, you can do it! Grab yourself a springfrom pan and make me proud.

(probably should have taken a picture before taking a bite)

p.s.- I’m not exactly sure what went wrong with this crust. Seems pretty simple according to the recipe.  Maybe my mistake was in using off brand gingersnaps?

::Adapted from Brown Eyed Baker::

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “The Art of Pumpkin Cheesecake and Smoke Detectors

  1. lewiclan says:

    Wow, what a journey to make the perfect cheesecake for me! Thank you for going to all that work!!! I didn’t even know you had a blog until the other day. I will be subscribing. 😀

Leave a Reply

