The Grand (part 2)

You’re not going to want to miss breakfast at the Grand either. It’s your choice of either a 5 course affair, or the largest breakfast buffet I’ve ever seen. We just went with ordering our courses off the menu. I wouldn’t be surprised if the Grand Hotel is really the one who coined the phrase…”breakfast of champions,” because that is exactly how you feel while eating it, like a champion. Thinking about it makes me really hungry for breakfast right now and unfortunately all I have are eggs in my refrigerator. Boo.

After breakfast we headed out to the world’s longest front porch (over two football fields in length) to check out the view.

This is part of the view from the porch

We decided to walk into town to wait for our mom to join us, she was supposedly coming in on the 12:00 ferry. It’s evident where we get the tendency to be running late. She barely made it to lunch with us by 2:00. If you haven’t noticed a pattern, when visitng the Grand Hotel really all you’re going to do is eat! It felt like we had just gorged ourselves at breakfast and poof, time for the Grand Luncheon Buffet. This isn’t your regular every day style lunch. Tickets to this luncheon are $45 a piece! The buffet is huge and filled with all kinds of cheeses, fruits, veggies, hors d’oeuvres, salads, pasta, oysters, shrimp, mussels, chicken, fish, along with a man carving some kind of red meat. It wasn’t till we were about to leave that we discovered the dessert buffet table filled with cheesecakes, chocolate covered strawberries, cookies, cakes, eclairs, etc… Trouble. Big trouble.

We were just about the only ones left in the dining room so we had a friendly chat with our lunch waiter and our dinner waiter from the night before who are both from Jamaica. They told me that with my style I’d be more than welcome in Jamaica. Ha! Then I realized I was wearing a reverse Tye dyed shirt and dreadlocks with a chunky headband. Of course I’d be welcomed in Jamaica:)

After lunch we went and rented some bikes to work off all of that food! We rode the perimeter of the island

We shopped, took a little nap in the park, then headed back to the hotel for a little R&R on the balcony of our room.

My sister made a deal with me, that no matter what we were doing for my birthday, that we would be sure to watch “the sunset on my 20’s.” We caught the sunset both nights, it was spectacular.

Then guess what time it is?! You’re right, time once again for dinner…(look at my mom looking all young and beautiful)

We demolished another Grand Pecan Ball, did some more sight seeing in the hotel and then headed out for a little excursion up the middle of the island to check out the part of the island that typically goes unseen. The homes of the locals.

Here’s a look at the bridge lit up

Main Street without any people on it is a rare sight

The next morning we had another round of breakfast and then hiked up to the West Bluff.

We spent a little more time around the island, grabbed a Mackinaw Island Fudge ice cream cone and jumped back on the Arnold Line to head home. This was one of those once in a lifetime experiences. It was all made possible by my very generous Aunt Jacquie who gave us her hotel vouchers as a gift to celebrate my birthday. I am so thankful for such an amazing family! If you ever get the chance to visit Mackinaw Island whether you stay at the Grand Hotel or not, you definitely should.  It’s a magical place:). Here’s a link if you happened to be interested in some of the random facts about the island, like that they don’t allow any motorized vehicles on the island, or how many gallons of water it takes to fill the swimming pool…

I guess this concludes my birthday week, I suppose turning 30 wasn’t so bad after all.

(This is the Grand Hotel Taxi…very swanky)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Grand (part 2)

  1. Natalie says:

    My mouth is watering. This is why I want to go on a cruise! I am so glad you had a good 30th birthday which as you know is a very important milestone in my opinion. You’re mom does look great, your sister is super photogenic, and you’re not so bad your hot self 😉

Leave a Reply

