Crazies

Sometimes people think I’m crazy.  Sometimes I think I’m crazy. Usually it’s true. I’ve got some crazy friends and family too. However, I’ve come to find that the times you’re thinking you must be crazy are usually the times that are the most epic in your life.  Take for example this nice drizzly, chilly day (during the best week ever) that my brother, sister, Chelsey, Daniel and I decided we should go kayaking from Tawas Lake, down the Tawas river, out into the bay and back to the Tawas City beach. I thought we were crazy as we all layered on warm clothes and wool socks.

Still  thinking we’re crazy as I dig out some mittens and my brother puts on his beanie.

Yep, still crazy when we pull up to the loading dock and unload all 5 kayaks onto the landing (one of them is hiding, I swear I can count).

However as soon as we hit the water and start to paddle down the river all thoughts of “You must be crazy!” drift away and are replaced with feelings of awe and a sense of thankfulness.  So thankful to be alive. I love times like these.  Times when my heart literally feels full.  When it seems like everything slows for just a few minutes as I try to take it all in, using all of my senses to capture every bit of that moment onto the memory card in my brain…thanking God for all of his blessings in my life.  Here I go, getting all sappy about a kayaking trip, but I can’t help it, I’m getting old remember?

Don’t get me wrong, the trip wasn’t all serene and peaceful. Everyone had to get stuck on a sandbar a time or two (and by everyone I mostly mean Chelsey), a few of us (or maybe that was just me) got slapped in the face with low hanging branches, we got harassed by a lady and her dog as we passed the trailer park, we failed at our attempt to paddle up dead creek, and somehow Chad’s feet got soaked? But by the time we paddled to the mouth of the river and into Lake Huron, the sun was just about setting and the water was smooth as glass. I think I heard the angel choirs singing the hallelujah chorus:).

You can call me crazy, I just might like that. This little trip seemed like a crazy thing to do, but it was SO worth it.

4 thoughts on “Crazies

  1. […] sounded like a vacation to me, three meals a day…nothing to do, time to just sit and be. I’m crazy I know.  Needless to say, my mom made me promise that I would get the issue taken care of because […]

  2. […] weeks ago my brother and I took a short little trip up to Alpena, Michigan to visit our good friend Daniel (I’ve mentioned him a few times before when he came to Texas to visit us and again when he […]

  3. […] It seems our favorite summer past time was kayaking this year! That’s right, I bought a kayak! We made several lake to lake trips in the evenings. Theres something unexplainable about getting outdoor and being in nature. While paddling down the river we saw a bunch of ducks, a few deer, a couple Osprey, and one busy beaver. We tried to follow him home down an eery waterway through tall weeds and stagnant water. We’re just a touch crazy. […]

Leave a Reply

