Best Week Ever.

So I wrote this last week, just go with it. I’m not still on Mackinaw Island, no matter how hard I wish I was.

Looks like someone is having the BEST WEEK EVER. Yep, that someone is me.  I’m a bit overwhelmed at the moment with where to even begin.  I have sooo much to tell you about my milestone birthday. I’m currently sitting outside of the “Lucky Bean Coffeehouse” on Mackinac Island, Mi enjoying a nice fat cappuccino in the 52 degree weather. Yeah, sorry to rub it in but I don’t care, I’ve had to suffer for so long. So here it goes, the low down on my dirty thirty birthday, this I’m sure will be the last time you hear me admit that ever again:).  Let me explain to you how I’ve had “The Best Week Ever…” I’m just gonna skip ahead to Saturday.  Due to a chain of events including the annual 3D Triathlon and the woman’s softball tournament both being in town on my birthday weekend, we had to reschedule our Grand Hotel stay to the following weekend. At first I was a a bit disappointed because spending the weekend around town while everyone was working was exactly what I didn’t want to do for my birthday. Of course I should have known that my family would be up to something. Chad was flying in on Saturday morning, so my Dad and I drove to flint to pick him up at 12:30. My sister had suggested that we  all head up to our family trailer in Gaylord after they got out of work. So I packed up my overnight bag and figured this would at least be a nice relaxing evening and we could head over to Petosky on Sunday for brunch. Surprise, surprise, I was packed and ready to go on time! All of sudden there’s obnoxious honking in the drive-way. Who could it be? The Moffatts of course…well just Chelsey and Daniel actually. Anyway, they had a scavenger hunt planned for me full of old embarrassing photos and stops along memory lane. Some of the places include…

        St. Vinnie’s, our favorite thrift store

Looking for records produced in 1981

The high school, to paint my birthday on the spirit rock

Painting the Spirit Rock

The church to perform a rendition of an old, really cheesy song that we actually used to sing in church

Woot, Woot, here we go...here we go!

A photo op with my old softball coach

Spent a lot of years with this guy...Saturday mornings since 6th grade and all 4 years of high school!

My grandma’s house to recite a tongue twister and receive my traditional gift of Bessinger pickles (best freaking pickles on the planet).

I can not even express to you how much I loved pickles! Well, I think you can see it in my eyes in this photo:)

There were other stops along the way, but you get the idea. With every stop there was a clue to the next place as well as a letter that in the end spelled out “Big Buck.” For those of you scratching your head, Big Buck is a brewery in Gaylord Michigan, so all five of us packed into Chelsey’s car for the last time (coincidentally she was selling it in Gaylord that same weekend) and drove the two hours north on I-75.

Beef jerky, chocolate milk, bluegrass radio...

My cousin Christina met us there and then they proceeded in hosting a “Roast,” me of course being the Roastee. Here are a few of my favorites….

There were plenty more...

Afterward, we made our way to the camp where my parents and Aunt and Uncle had set up a little party complete with decorations all along the path around the lake. We grilled hamburgers and hot dogs and then indulged in some yummy S’mores cupcakes.

Delicious cupcakes+sparkler candles because I love fire.

We had round two of the Roast, because of course my parents were curious:). We ended the evening with a bonfire and guitar/bango sing-along.

No, not a jug of urine.

Then just about burnt the forest down lighting and sending off a Japanese lantern. Bad idea. Well, great idea (I’ve always wanted to do one of those things) just bad idea to do it surrounded by forest! We had a little scare for a few minutes when the flaming lantern got caught in the top of a tree for a minute. Yikes. Won’t do that again.

There were 3, one was enough to about give us all heart attacks!

I  really wanted to go to Hawaii for my birthday. That sounded like a great plan. Some day I’ll go to Hawaii, but seriously Hawaii’s got nothin’ on us. I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday!  Getting to spend a great day with some of the best friends and family that I could ask for is something that I won’t forget. I feel really blessed. The only thing that could have made it better would have been if ALL of my friends and family could have been there.  Maybe next time. Well…never mind, because I’m done having birthdays.

So stay tuned for more of “The Best Week Ever.”

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Best Week Ever.

  1. […] Skip to content Homeme, myself and imusic to my ears ← Best Week Ever. September 26, 2011 · 2:43 pm ↓ Jump to […]

  2. […] times that are the most epic in your life.  Take for example this nice drizzly, chilly day (during the best week ever) that my brother, sister, Chelsey, Daniel and I decided we should go kayaking from Tawas Lake, down […]

  3. […] Leaving on a Jet plane (to celebrate my […]

  4. […] my birthday! Yeah, I have a hard time believing it’s been a whole year already. A year since “The Best Week Ever.” I made this list of things of things that I wanted to accomplish this year. So I thought I’d […]

  5. […] him a few times before when he came to Texas to visit us and again when he helped celebrate my birthday). While we were there he took us to Rockport State Park. Rockport is located on the shore of Lake […]

Leave a Reply

