“29” and almost out of time.

So D-day is inching closer and closer. I can feel 30 trying to crawl on me, eew. It’s a sneaky one, that age is. You tell yourself you’re still young, you still feel like a twenty-something, you can still hang with the cool kids… but then ever so slowly age comes creeping up on you. At first you don’t know it’s there, you might catch a glimpse of it lurking in a dark corner, or catch it’s shadow drifting by every now and again, but before you know it, you find yourself tangled in it’s silky web watching as it feasts on your youthfulness for dinner.
I’m trying to embrace it, really I am. Haha…can’t you tell:). I guess it doesn’t really matter if I want to embrace it or not, it’s gonna get me here soon. So I thought we should take a look at that little to-do list I made a few months back and see how it’s coming along.

1.Journal more– Well, I’m not sure how many times I’ve written in an actual journal since this time last year, but my goal was to write more and record some of my thoughts and musings on my life. This makes 27 posts that I’ve written on this blog. Not all that impressive.  I would say however, journal more especially with the lack of specifics as to how much that really is, has been successful. Hopefully I can keep it up plus some in this next year.

2. Get an iphoneGot an iphone the old fashioned way. I saved up my tips from work for several months until I had enough cash saved, plus a deal for an upgrade. Merry Christmas to myself. Getting an iphone happened to be one of the first things crossed off the list.

3. See Mumford and Sons liveWhen I put this on my list, I didn’t know that the opportunity to see Mumford + Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros + Old Crow Medicine Show would actually be obtainable. I honestly thought it would be one of the things I just put on there as a hopeful, but didn’t expect for it to really happen. Fortunately it did happen and The Railroad Revival Tour was a great time.  You can read about it in the Keep Austin Awesome and Keep Austin Awesome (some more) posts.

4. Get a camera (any kind) This one is kinda weird. Okay, get a camera of any kind. Don’t bother taking pictures with it or anything, just get a camera? Well, with the purchase of my iPhone, the camera was kind of a given. I did also buy an old school disposable camera last spring and took a few pictures while out and about.  I should probably find it and get that film developed…story of my life from about 1993-2003. Now-a-days you can check out my iphone photos by following me on Instagram.

5. Go camping This one gets to be crossed off twice.  Camping trip #1…My brother and I, along with some friends spent the weekend camping for free at Pace Bend State Park when we went to Austin for the RRR Tour. Camping trip #2…In June I went as a leader with some of the youth from my church to Cornerstone music festival in Bushnell Illinois. We spent a long, HOT, week living it up in tents. You can read about that here and here.

Well, I’d say the first 5 are enough for tonight. I’ll continue to fill you in on how the list is coming along and whether or not I’m going to get it all accomplished in the next 12 days!! Until then…goodnight.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on ““29” and almost out of time.

  1. I’m so jealous you went to that concert! I’m looking for a good concert to go to and I might have to check out the Railroad Revival Tour for this coming year. Also, I should really crack down and cross more items off of my list too. Seeing camping on yours reminds me that I should do that while the weather is still nice!

    • melissa says:

      Yes, camping is a must! It’s especially great in the fall because you get to wear sweaters and actually enjoy a bonfire. Just don’t forget the S’mores!

  2. […] to accomplish this list. Seriously, where did the time go?? I feel like I was just talking about my last list. I’ve had this list started for some time now, so hopefully I can get most of it crossed off […]

Leave a Reply

