Keep Austin Awesome

This past week has been crazy busy. Awesome, but exhausting at the same time.  The week started with a trip to Austin Texas and ended with the 4/30 Art and Music Festival at the Lighthouse, with a few sleepless nights in between.  I recently posted a list of things that I want to do before my next birthday (you can read about that list here).  I’m so excited, because I was able to check a few of those things off my list! Including one of the major ones…see Mumford and Sons live. Yes, it’s true.  I know you’re jealous so don’t hate me, but I got to be a part of the crowd for Mumford’s Railroad Revival Tour. I first put this task (if you can call it that) to see Mumford and Son’s live on my list thinking it would never happen. I figured they wouldn’t be back in the US and the likely hood of me actually getting tickets for a show would probably be slim to none. I added it anyway to at least just fill a number. Then, I woke up one morning a few months back and checked my facebook (sometimes it’s the only way I can keep myself from falling directly back to sleep).  I saw that “The Mum” had posted a tour with (wait for it)….Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros….(it doesn’t stop there) and Old Crow Medicine Show! Both bands that I had been wanting to see live as well. I rubbed my eyes, checked it again, rubbed my eyes once more, went to the website to make sure I was reading it right, busted out a little dance…  Turns out the bands would be traveling across the Southwest on a vintage train, making only 6 stops along the way, Austin Tx being one of them. My lucky day, let’s just say I jumped on that train as fast I could and found myself along with my brother and two of our closest friends on our way to the Live Music Capital of the World. Here are a few of the highlights…

The Ticket

 First stop of course was coffee what else would you expect? I think it’s obvious I enjoyed it.

what used to be a cappuccino

Bocce Ball in this park, way more fun than I expected. If you look closely you can see the Bocce Balls spread out on the ground.

Bocce Ball!!!!-photo cred-Natalie Busch

We went to see the world’s largest urban bat colony exiting from under the Congress Ave Bridge. Creepy + Awesome.

Waiting for the bats

Sorry Mom…

- photo cred-Natalie Busch

First time back in the sushi game since my mishap at ghetto sushi in Sagnasty. Delicious. Dinner.

-photo cred- Natalie Busch

We stumbled upon one of the cities many painted pianos…

Painted Pianos-photo cred-NB

Camping at Pace Bend Park…free?? Somehow we lucked out and no one was working at the park while we were there. Best free campground I’ve ever been to and beautiful to boot. Cliff side camping a bonus!

campsite backyard-photo cred- NB

-photo cred-NB

This just goes to show it’s true what they say…”Keep Austin Weird!” This guy was hanging out at our campsite with us. Looks pretty friendly during the day, but actually rather frightening when your flashlight hits him unaware at 1am.

Put on a happy face -photo cred-NB

So yeah, there’s definitely more to this adventure, but it’s 3am again and there’s still lots to tell.  So I’ll leave you with this much for now…until next time.

You can also check out some of Natalie’s other photos at memoryweaverphotos.com or her side of this story at her blog, The Messy Mom.

Now Playing in my ears:  Antlers,’Bust Apart’

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Keep Austin Awesome

  1. Natalie says:

    Aw, you give me too much credit (never thought I’d say that literally). That was FUN! I didn’t know all the history behind that tour, so that is really cool.

  2. […] journeyed to Austin in the first place…The Railroad Revival Tour! (I wrote a bit about it in Keep Austin Awesome)  Not gonna lie, it was hot and crowed, the girls next to me were smoking an illegal substance. […]

  3. […] it did happen and The Railroad Revival Tour was a great time.  You can read about it in the Keep Austin Awesome and Keep Austin Awesome (some more) […]

  4. […] A trip to Austin with best friends to see the Railroad Revival […]

Leave a Reply

